Information about WTSAG

Suburbs Represented

Submitted by webmaster on Sun, 18/04/2010 - 08:26

The Walter Taylor South Action Group covers the suburbs of Chelmer, Graceville, Sherwood, Corinda and Oxley.  We sometimes address issues in adjoining areas of Tennyson, Rocklea and Indooroopilly.

This areas is covered by the Brisbane City Council Wards of Tennyson and Jamboree, and the state electorates of Millar and Mt Ommaney.

The Walter Taylor South Action Group were also founding members of the umbrella organisation Brisbane Residents United.

About Us

Taxonomy upgrade extras


To influence State Government and Brisbane City Council approaches to urban planning so that:

  • Urban planning processes involve input from residents
  • Processes and design codes are managed to avoid inappropriate and unharmonious development

To provide residents affected by individual developments support by providing:

Walter Taylor South Planning History

Submitted by webmaster on Tue, 14/07/2009 - 22:54

In July 1994, Council commenced a Local Area Planning Program involving the preparation of nine Local Area Plans over a three year period.


  • From 1994/95 - Sandgate, East Brisbane/Cooparoo, and Stephens District (Annerley, Fairfield, Yeronga, Yerrongpilly);
  • From 1995/96 - Bulimba, Moorooka and Kiraby Districts; and,
  • From 1996/97 - Ashgrove, Clayfield/Wooloowin and Walter Taylor South


The Walter Taylor South Community Steering Group played a pivotal role in commencing the preparation of the Local Area Plan.  The group facilitated meetings, wrote a questionnaire and drafted a report recommending the preparation of a local area plan for Walter Taylor South.